Midweek Squee: Yarn Bombing

I had heard tell of the mysterious art of Yarn Bombing, but never actually seen it in person. There’s a Yarn Bombing Day on June 9th, but apparently it got ignored where I live (I didn’t know about it in my defence – Google just told me!). Maybe noone near me crochets or knits. Which is sad.

For those of you not in the know, Yarn bombing is when you cover something in yarn (usually a tree but a Google image search for Yarn Bombing brings up things like benches, bikes and even a bus shelter with a gigantic bobble hat). It sounds like it’s usually done under the cover of darkness, possibly by ninja who have replaced their shuriken with crochet hooks and knitting needles. So very British ninja, possibly of the granny¬†persuasion. They might even go have a cup of tea to celebrate when they’re done.

Anyway, as I said I’d never actually seen it. until last week, when I started uni. I got off the train in the Yorkshire city of Sheffield, and was trekking to Sheffield Hallam Uni for a lecture when I saw this:

Woolius Treeus

Honestly, I was so excited that I had to stop and snap a couple of photos.

Close up

Chuffed, I carried on inside. Only to see that in the vicinity were MORE yarn bombed trees!

Loveticus Hartashia Yarnbomicus Treeus

Sunfadecal Yarnificus Treeus

It did not escape my attention that two of these trees had pockets. There was nothing in either of them (I checked) but they did form a plan in my brain. The next day, I walked passed the trees again, but this time I added my own contribution:

The lesser spotted Tiny Alien makes it’s nest at the site of a Yarn Bombing.

And I walked around the rest of the day with a gleeful smile. I’m back on that site today (I’ll be there when this post goes live even) so I’ll see if he’s still nesting, or if he’s migrated on to a new home, spreading the Amigurumi glee…

Tiny Alien is from Creepy Cute Crochet by Christen Haden, AKA Needle Noodles.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Midweek Squee: Yarn Bombing

  1. Oh I’m glad you finally got to see some yarn bombing for yourself! It’s quite impressive, isn’t it? And I absolutely love that you added a contribution to it! What a nice feeling and what a good job you did on the little alien! Hope the lecture at the uni was a good one!

    • It was a nice feeling. He was still there when I went back yesterday too, plus someone had added some more bombing to the trunk of another tree. I’m pleased – thought it was just me who noticed it from the amount of people walking past oblivious!

Spin a yarn...

