Red Castle Crashers Knight (Free Pattern)

I made this pattern up a while back, but now seems a perfect time to release it. Yes, I’m off the grid writing from the past to post in the future (or the present as you’re reading) but I wanted to give something awesome in the middle of what will be some very quick minor posts. I present – The Red Castle Crashers Knight.

Castle Crashers is a game on the Xbox 360. It features little cartoon knights who are freaking adorable. There’re loads of different colours, but the red one is very well known (the main four are Red, Orange, Blue and Green) so I decided to try the pattern with him.

Make your own after the jump.

The Essentials:

Hook: 2mm.

Wool: DK in red, white, grey and black.

Above colours makes Knight as shown. Red can be substituted for green, orange, blue, pink or pale grey to make the game’s full range of Knights.

Also needed: Black embroidery thread.

Finished Size: 3” tall.

Terms:

CH = Chain

SC = Single Crochet

SL ST = Slip Stitch

INC = Increase

DEC = Decrease

I start my amigurumi using CH2 for simplicity, but if you prefer you can use a magic ring.

NB: Some of this pattern is crocheted in joined rounds. Unlike usual, do not chain one at the beginning to raise the stitch unless directed to by the pattern.

HEAD

Face:
CH9

Row 1: 8sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 2: 8sc (red)(8) (ch, turn)

Row 3: 8sc (red)(8) (ch, turn)

Row 4: 8sc (red)(8) (ch, turn)

Row 5: 8sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 6: 2sc (red) 2sc (white) 4sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 7: 2sc (red) 2sc (white) 4sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 8: 2sc (red) 2sc (white) 4sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 9: 7sc (white) 1sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 10: 6sc (white) 2sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 11: 6sc (white) 2sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 12: 7sc (white) 1sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 13: 2sc (red) 2sc (white) 4sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 14: 2sc (red) 2sc (white) 4sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 15: 2sc (red) 2sc (white) 4sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 16: 8sc (red) (8) (ch, turn)

Row 17: 8sc (red)(8) (ch, turn)

Row 18: 8sc (red)(8) (ch, turn)

Row 19: 8sc (red)(8) (ch, turn)

Row 20: 8sc (red) (8). Finish.

It should look like this:

Sew far edges together to create a cylinder.

Sew your face on here.

Make two flat circles in red:

Head base:

Ch2

Round 1: 6sc in second stitch from hook. Join with sl st. (6)

Round 2: Inc around. Join with sl st (12).

Round 3: [Sc, Inc] Repeat around. Join with sl st (18). Finish.

Head top:

Ch2

Round 1: 6sc in second stitch from hook. Join with sl st. (6)

Round 2: Inc around. Join with sl st (12). Ch to raise.

Round 3: [Sc, Inc] Repeat around. Join with sl st (18). Finish.

Sew in place on the head. The base should be flat/ slightly rounded, and the top should have a depression in the middle. Remember to stuff!

bottom

Top

Make two small bumps in red:

Ears:

Ch2

Row 1: 5sc in second stitch from hook. Finish.

Sew to the side of the head, at either end of the horizontal stripe.

BODY

Torso:

Crochet in joined rounds.

Ch 2 in white

Round 1: 6sc into second chain from hook (6) Join with sl st. Ch to raise.

Round 2: Inc around (12) Join with sl st. Ch to raise.

Round 3: [sc, Inc] repeat around (18) Join with sl st. Ch to raise.

Round 4: Sc around (18) Join with sl st. Ch to raise.

Round 5: Sc around (18) Join with sl st. Ch to raise.

Round 6: Sc around (18) Join with sl st. Ch to raise.

Round 7: Sc around (18) Join with sl st. Ch to raise.

Round 8: [dec,sc] repeat around (12) Join with sl st. Ch to raise.

Stuff

Round 9: Dec around (6) Join with sl st. Finish.

Sew head in place.

Arms (x2):

Ch2 in grey

Round 1: 6sc into second chain from hook (6)

Round 2: Sc around (6)

Round 3: Sc around (6)

Round 4: Inc around, begin colour change to black in last loop (12)

Round 5: (in black) Dec around (6)

Round 6: Sc around (6). Finish.

Sew arms in place, grey as sleeves, black as gloves.

While you’re there, sew a red cross onto the chest.

Legs (x2):

Ch2 in black

Round 1: 6sc into second chain from hook (6)

Round 2: Sc around, begin colour change to grey in last loop (6)

Round 3: (in grey) Sc around (6)

Round 4: Sc around (6). Finish (don’t sew closed).

Feet (x2):

Ch6 in grey

Row 1: 5sc (ch, turn)

Row 2: 5sc (ch, turn)

Row 3: 5sc (ch, turn)

Round 4: Sl st around the outside edge, join with sl st. (15, but the number can be more or less if required)

Round 5: Sc around, join with sl st (15)

Round 6: Sc around, join with sl st (15)

Finish leaving long tail for sewing.

Sew edges together from to toe to half way up the shoe, leave top half open.

Sew grey section of legs to feet round open top half.

Sew legs in place. 

Look! He stands up! Legs are fiddly but they’re worth it.

Robe bottom:

Ch25 in red – check fit around Knight’s waist.

Row 1: Colour change to white. Sc 22 and STOP leaving 2ch spare at end of foundation chain. (ch to turn)

Row 2: 22sc (ch to turn)

Row 3: 22sc (ch to turn)

Row 4: 22sc (ch to turn). Finish and weave in white tails, cut red tail long for sewing.

Sew the side of the red band WITHOUT extra ch in place at centre of torso.

Wrap the rest round the body and sew in place – the extra chains should create a small gap at the front of the robe.

You’re done! See the 360 degrees shots below.

See the gap at the front?

Well, the 270 degrees. Anyway – your Castle Crashers Knight is ready to select his weapon and go rescue his princess! One day I want to make all the colour variations. Then you won’t see me for months while I play…

Since I’m moving house and have no internet access until November I won’t be able to respond to comments most likely. I will read any that get posted, and I’ll respond in time, it’ll just take me a while. Thanks for understanding! 

7 thoughts on “Red Castle Crashers Knight (Free Pattern)

  1. I love him! I haven’t played that game on Xbox but will have to look it up. You are going to laugh because I am working on a knight for a week from now, I started him a few nights ago to try and get a little bit ahead because I have about five projects on my mind right now and am afraid I won’t get them all done. But then I came here and saw you had one! Too funny. The one I am working on is from a game on my iPad – One Epic Knight. It’s a silly game but the character is cute. I just went to see images from Castle Crashers. I think yours is even cuter than the ones from the game if that is possible! 🙂

    • It’s freaky how often we’ve had the same idea (or at least posted the same idea) at the same time. Clearly we are crochet trend setters 😀
      Castle Crashers is a silly-but-cute games too. Very addictive, give it a go if you ever get chance. It’s mine and my boyfriend’s fall back game if we’re ever bored. I just Google one Epic Knight too, I’d seen the character before and not known where he was from. I’m gonna go gander at your blog next too to see your version!

  2. Pingback: Yarndango Finished Project XI – My Wandering Mind | madcrochetlab.com

  3. I kind of got side-tracked on my little knight. I started him using gold thread and made his little head and body but then realized that was going to be way too small to get the kind of detail I wanted to display on him. So I am going to have a re-do at that attempt in a few weeks. But when I do, I will also show you the tiny body that I abandoned. LOL.

    • I’ve only ever done netting using thread for crocheting, and that was a pain so I can imagine how tiny your attempt was. It’ll be interesting to see. I’ll keep my eye out for the post 🙂

  4. Pingback: Readers Gallery 1 | Amiguruthi

  5. Pingback: FREE Video Game Amigurumi Crochet Patterns - The Knit Wit by Shair

Spin a yarn...

