Jelly Tot Sprite (Free Pattern)

I am back in the time stream! By which I mean what you are reading is a post typed up and posted on the same day, not one of my scheduled posts from the past. My house move went ok, although we’ve been living here for six weeks and the spare rooms are still not unpacked because life happened. Me and the mister are involved with an amateur theatre group, who decided to do a challenge of putting on ‘How the Other Half Loves’ (a very complicated Alan Ayckbourn play) with only six weeks of rehearsals, which mean I haven’t had an evening free to unpack since roughly five weeks ago! But that goes on this week (wish me luck!) so after that I’ll be free to unpack and finally sort out my craft half room. I’m taking over half of one of the spare rooms, as much out of necessity as design. My wool stash is currently piled haphazardly in a corner and my amigurumi are in a box waiting to be displayed.

Anyway, enough waffle from me. On to the interesting stuff: a new pattern! Partial credit goes to Geek Girl Crochet who inadvertently helped me with the head when she was trying to help me with my Clanger. It’s not the exact pattern she helped me write, because I changed the last third while I was messing about, but I wouldn’t have concocted the rest of this creature without her input, so thank you!

Without further ado, here is the Jelly Tot Sprite:

The Jelly Tot Sprite is one of those creations which was never intended to be made, but which forced itself upon my hook and wouldn’t leave until she was created. She’s a little bit creepy like that. She’s bigger than anything I’ve designed before, standing a good six inches tall. The hypnotic eyes will make you feel slightly uncomfortable, but will burn into your soul and won’t let you leave her. But it’s ok, she can be easily appeased with chocolate milk.

I have no idea why she’s called the Jelly Tot Sprite. It just seemed to fit. She was going to be a mushroom…

Make your own after the jump.

The Essentials:

Hook: 3mm (makes the size shown, but I’m sure any hook size would work and scale up or down accordingly).

Wool: DK in pale pink and dark pink.

Above colours makes the Jelly Tot Sprite as shown, but I’m sure there are others in the ether waiting to be created in a variety of colours so go nuts and channel your own!

Finished Size: 6” tall.

Terms:

CH = Chain

SC = Single Crochet

INC = Increase

DEC = Decrease

SL ST = Slip Stitch

I start my amigurumi using CH2 for simplicity, but if you prefer you can use a magic ring.

Head

Magic ring/ Ch2

Round 1: 6sc into magic ring/ second chain from hook [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3:{1sc, INC} around [18]
Round 4: SC around [18]
Round 5:{2sc, INC} around [24]
Round 6: SC around [24]
Round 7:{3sc, INC} around [30]
Round 8: SC around [30]
Round 9:{4sc, INC} around [36]
Round 10: SC around [36]
Round 11: (5sc, INC) around  [42]
Round 12: sc around  [42]
Round 13: (6sc, INC) around  [48]
Round 14: sc around [48]
Round 15: (7sc, INC) around  [54]
Round 16: (8sc, INC) around  [60]
Round 17: (9sc, INC) around  [66]
Round 18: (10sc, INC) around  [72]
Rounds 19-20: sc around  [72]
Round 21: (4sc, DEC) around  [60]
Round 22: sc around  [60]
Round 23: (3sc, DEC) around  [48]
Round 24: sc around  [48]
Round 25: (2sc, DEC) around  [36]
Round 26: sc around  [36]
Round 27: DEC around  [18]
Stuff and finish.

you should now have:

It’s a blob! Or a boob as my boyfriend giggled, but less said the better.

Body

Magic ring/ Ch2

Round 1: 6sc into magic ring/ second chain from hook [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3:{1sc, INC} around [18]
Round 4:{2sc, INC} around [24]
Round 5:{3sc, INC} around [30]
Round 6:{4sc, INC} around [36]
Round 7: (5sc, INC) around [42]
Rounds 8 -11: SC around [42]
Round 9: {5sc, DEC} around [36]
Round 10: Sc around [36]
Round 11: {4sc, DEC} around [30]
Round 12: Sc around [30]
Round 13: {3sc, DEC} around [24]
Round 14: Sc around [24]
Round 15: {2sc, DEC} around [18]
Rounds 16-17: Sc around [18]
Stuff and finish.

Which will give you:

And sewing them together at the holes will leave you with:

Can you see why I was thinking mushroom now?

Arms (make 2)

Magic ring/ Ch2

Round 1: 6sc into magic ring/ second chain from hook [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3:{1sc, INC} around [18]
Round 4:{2sc, INC} around [24]
Rounds 5-6: Sc around [24]
Round 7: {2sc, DEC} around [18]
Round 8: {1sc, DEC} around [12]
Rounds 9-17: Sc around [12]
Stuff and finish.

Now, if you’ve channelled pink, peach or a shade of brown as your Jelly Tot Sprite’s colour, don’t crochet the arms on a crowded commuter train. You will get funny looks because they look like, well, I don’t actually have a picture (which is weird cos I was so amused I remember taking one and thinking what I’d write here) but just look at the shape and imagine it alone for a second:

It’s essentially a penis. Or a tampon. Me and the boyfriend couldn’t decide which. Either way, if you’re as childish as us it’s a giggle. If you’re a serious crocheter then ignore me 🙂

Anyway, sew the arms on (mine are connected just under the head and slightly forward, but see what your Jelly Tot Sprite requests).

Legs (make 2)

Ch7

Round 1: Starting in the second ch from hook, 6sc down one side of the chain, turn, 6sc up the other side of the chain [12]
Round 2: {1sc, INC} around [18]
Round 3: {2sc, INC} around [24]
Round 4: {3sc, INC} around [30]
Round 5: {4sc, INC} around [36]

Gives you

Round 6-7: Sc around [36]
Round 8: 3DEC, 24Sc, 3DEC [30]
Round 9: 3DEC, 18Sc, 3DEC [24]
Round 10: 3DEC, 12 Sc, 3DEC [18]

Which makes the foot:

Stuff then carry on with:

Round 11-20: Sc around [18]

Finish and stuff and you should have:

Sew these in place too. Mine touch in the middle.

Now grab your dark pink wool, or whatever colour you’re using to add the details.

Eyes (make 2)

Magic ring/ Ch2

Round 1: 6sc into magic ring/ second chain from hook [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3:{1sc, INC} around [18]
SL ST to join the round and finish. You can make bigger or smaller circles as you prefer too.

Sew your eyes in place on the head, and embroider on a mouth using the same yarn.

Also add a belly button with a couple of stitches of the same yarn:

And that’s your Jelly Tot Sprite done. I was considering adding some fillet crochet wings to mine too, but I haven’t for two reasons. 1) She decided she didn’t want wings, and 2) I’ve never done fillet crochet and it looks really hard. I may have to try channel her brother or sister and see if they want wings…

As always, if you do make yourself a Jelly Tot Sprite, send me a photo and some comments below or to amiguruthi[at]hotmail[dot]co[dot]uk.

11 thoughts on “Jelly Tot Sprite (Free Pattern)

  1. This is lovely! So original and adorable! Also, I love the name. I can’t explain it either, but it totally fits her! OMG – the belly button is so cute. You’re amazing and so is Geek Girl Crochet. I haven’t seen her lately but hope she is doing well and will re-emerge soon! Also, enjoyed your write-up. As usual, it was humorous and gave me the giggles. 🙂

    • Thanks Teeni! She does slightly creep me out when she sits staring at me, but I do have the urge to make many, many of them and have an army of adorable creepiness. The bellybutton is totally my favourite bit, not to be missed out lol.
      I hope GGC is ok too, I know she wasn’t well a bit back so I wonder if she’s still not quite right.

  2. Pingback: Yarndango Finished Projects and More to Come | madcrochetlab.com

  3. Pingback: Midweek Squee: The Crochet Club House | Amiguruthi

  4. Pingback: How I design | Amiguruthi

Spin a yarn...

