Knit and Stitch Show Harrogate 24/11/12

Right, before I was rudely interrupted by rising flood water (at one point my boyfriend was finding the glee by pointing out that we had a moat. Unfortunately I was more concerned about the newly installed indoor paddling pool where the kitchen used to be) I was going to write an update on the Knit and Stitch Show I attended in Harrogate on Saturday.

OMG the absolute yarn love! You walked in to a huge hall (well, four huge halls) full of exhibition stands, mostly sales but some proper exhibits of work and right through all those was a community project linking sleeping bags left at festivals with homeless people via some sewing crafty type alterations and then a giant area with classes and demonstrations.

People milling round the stalls.

There were some gorgeous things like this Queen of Hearts costume:

And this knitted wedding dress:

 

Which would probably cause comments on your big day. Then there were slightly kookier stuff like this:

 

That’s all cross stitch, done by a guy called Mr X Stitch who had some really cool stuff, my favourite being this rhino head:

It’s all felted and cool lol. There was in general a lot of cool things. Although not much in the way of amigurumi, and even the ones that were there were knitted, like these:

 

Or these finger puppets:

 

Although credit where credit is due, the knitted ami’s did extend to a knitted village:

 

Complete with my favourite bit, a knitted fire station:

 

There was also a knitted person getting run over by a knitted car but I didn’t photograph that!

And topping even that there was an exhibition of knitted childhood books including a six foot long Very Hungry Caterpillar:

 

And an Alice in Wonderland Tea Party Scene:

 

I really wish I could give credit for all these excellent things, but I was snapping away all gleefully, and forgot to make a note of the artists – if anyone identifies anything give me a shout!

So, what did I contribute personally to the show? Well, a couple of things actually!

Firstly, I learnt to knit and made a sweet:

 

Ok, not my best work, but I’ve not knitted in years and even then I only did it for a week or so!

And even better – remember my ami Clanger? I worked into her and created a mini Christmas angel:

 

which I entered into Yorkshire Cancer Research’s Knit or Sew a Clanger Competition, where there was a prize from the best, and then all the clangers were being sold off at the show to raise funds. I didn’t win (I didn’t expect to though) but according to a lovely email I got today she sold first out of any of them – the lady who emailed me was a member of staff at YCR and said that she’d been disappointed because she’d wanted her and asked for the pattern so she could try make her own. I linked her to my blog and worked out the edits to email back too, which I might even get round to posting at some point lol. I was chuffed because I wasn’t really a fan of her, but looking back actually she turned out ok. And here she is with the rest of the entries:

 

The green one over to the back right won – it’s a clanger dressed as a Christmas tree. Next year I’m going to learn to knit specifically so I can take part in this competition again. Congrats to all the entries if any of you stumble to my corner of the internet, and what a great way to raise money for a great cause!

And finally in my round up of epicness, the crunch reason for attending – the swag! I bought a fair few things including some gorgeous tealy blue wool (which I have no clue what I will make with but the colour was too lovely to resist); a 3.5mm bamboo crochet hook (which I’ve been after for ages – it’s lovely and smooth to work with, although I might need to craft a grip for it); a 2mm metal crochet hook with a proper handle (because I keep bending my unhandled one); some expensive glow in the dark thread and some cheap but nice material for two uni projects. I resisted the urge to buy some interesting looking metallicy plasticy coated yarn because although the price was reasonable I really had no clue what I would ever use it for (although I really REALLY wanted it for the sake of prettiness). I also did not buy a 20mm crochet hook:

 

Or a pair of ridiculously large knitting needles:

 

BUT DEAR GOD DID I WANT TO!

A gallery of my photos is included below, there’re some I haven’t included in the body if you want to see more highlights.

 

5 thoughts on “Knit and Stitch Show Harrogate 24/11/12

  1. WOW! What fun to see all those things! I especially love the knitted village and your Clanger! She’s adorable and what a great way to use her! So glad! I wish I could have gone. I am going to have to keep my eyes open around here for anything similar in the area!

    • Yeah the knitted village was awesome. All little bits done by different people across the UK, then put together by someone with possibly the best job in the world lol.
      Def keep your eye out for something – I’m sure there must be an equivalent over there. Great day, even just to go and stroke ridiculously expensive wool and sign longingly!

  2. I went to the show on Thursday…it was the first time I have been and I was completely overwhelmed! I was a bit freaked out by the number of stalls and people so I didn’t get to rummage as thoroughly as I would have liked so I only came home with a few bits. I would definitely make sure I was more prepared if I went again!

    • I’d not been to Knit and Stitch before, but I went to a couple of technical theatre conventions when I was at uni so I knew sort of what to expect (although those gave you loads of freebies!). I can imagine without that I’d have been incredibly overwhelmed too. Sharpen your elbows before next years to aid with the shoving lol! I’m also gonna make sure I save up before the next one so I can really treat myself 😀

Spin a yarn...

