Midweek Squee: Virtual Handmade Holiday Craft Collaborative Project.

So the call went out on Facebook a month or so back from Teeni of Mad Crochet Lab for submissions of holiday related crochet for a cool project she was putting together – a ball wreath photographed and overlaid with images of crochet related to Christmas. It had to be nothing religious which ruled out my Clanger angel but luckily let me contribute my very first crochet project, a zombie snowman.

18122011485

There are many, many things wrong with this ami, it’s inside out, it’s not the most even of pieces and my embroidery (and photography!) were not up to much. But it does hold a special place in my heart since it started this whole crazy crochet journey and for that reason I submitted him. Luckily Teeni has as skewed a sense of humour as me because she included him (along with the fine work of many other artists) in the final image:

VHHCCP

Isn’t it cool? Teeni made it up into some cards and a lucky winner (not me unfortunately!) got sent copies, but I’m going to use my digital copy to make gift tags this year. And next year I may attempt to make a ball wreath myself cos Teeni’s looks gorgeous!

Congrats to everyone who has their work featured – I’m gonna try find a list of who everyone is so I can link spam, but apologies if it takes me a while (Teeni if you have it anywhere I’d appreciate the list!).

EDIT: Link spam!

•Bow – Crocheted and Designed by Jaime of Crochet Dynamite
•Button and Ball Tree – Crocheted and Designed by Janice Howe-Palmer
•Zombie Snowman – Crocheted and Designed by Amiguruthi
•Boomers (Male Kangaroo) – Crocheted and Designed by Kim of Woolly Toons
•Snowman Ornament – Crocheted and Designed by Liz of Crochet Creations by Liz
•Army of Snowmen – Crocheted and Designed by Amanda of Itchy Crochet
•Grinch – Crocheted and Designed by Kim of Kim’s Sticks and Strings
•Hat and Mitten Set – Crocheted and Designed by Anne of Crafted Whimzies
•Wreath Crocheted by Mad Crochet Lab and Inspired by Kate of the Greedy for Color blog

The Snowman pattern I used can be found for free by clicking the link.

2 thoughts on “Midweek Squee: Virtual Handmade Holiday Craft Collaborative Project.

  1. I love your zombie snowman! Don’t you dare put him down! LOL. He came out pretty great and I’m surprised at how well he came out as your first! See? You were destined to be a great ami-artist. I knew it! I love the idea of using the wreath as an image on your gift tags. I may copy your idea myself. It would be nice to show it off to friends and family that way. 🙂 Oh, and I DO have a list of credits that I included on the back of the printed out cards. Let’s see if I can copy and paste here without making a mess. Credits from 12:00 and working clockwise:
    •Bow – Crocheted and Designed by Jaime of Crochet Dynamite
    •Button and Ball Tree – Crocheted and Designed by Janice Howe-Palmer
    •Zombie Snowman – Crocheted and Designed by Amiguruthi
    •Boomers – Crocheted and Designed by Kim of Woolly Toons
    •Snowman Ornament – Crocheted and Designed by Liz of Crochet Creations by Liz
    •Army of Snowmen – Crocheted and Designed by Amanda of Itchy Crochet
    •Grinch – Crocheted and Designed by Kim of Kim’s Sticks and Strings
    •Hat and Mitten Set – Crocheted and Designed by Anne of Crafted Whimzies
    •Wreath Crocheted by Mad Crochet Lab and Inspired by Kate of the Greedy for Color blog

    • Excellent, thank you – I’ll have an edit and linkfest the post lol.

      I do have a soft spot for the zombie snowman. He’s currently still in the box with my Christmas tree (I haven’t found a chance to put it up yet – better get on with it really) but he’ll be gracing the branches again this year 😀

Spin a yarn...

