Amiguruthi goes to the craft faire.

Hi everyone. This is a couple of weeks late but I still wanted to post it cos it was quite a big thing for me, even if it was pretty much a fail! Plus, it’ll give you a sneak peek of a couple of free patterns I’ll be posting soon.

A couple of weeks back me and my friend did a craft faire together. It was at our old high school (which was super weird because between us leaving and the faire ten years later it had been burnt down and rebuilt to look like something out of Glee!). We arrived super early and set out our stall:

Amiguruthi stall

That’s my friend Jenny. She does some amazing graphic art and you can check her out at www.jennystorey.com

I had on my branded t-shirt:

http://www.docstoc.com/docs/52003708/Cylinder-Net

I’d even got business cards made:

Amiguruthi craft faire

Here’s my stock:

2013-11-17 09.43.38 2013-11-17 09.43.28 2013-11-17 09.43.15 2013-11-17 09.43.07 2013-11-17 09.42.59 2013-11-17 09.42.52 Amiguruthi craft faire

All patterns my own, expect for:
Owl pattern by A Morning Cup of Jo Creations.
Mini Minion pattern by Mad Crochet Lab.
Super Hero Pencils, Santa and Rudolf coming soon to Amiguruthi!

The day was five hours long and I sold a grand total of (drum roll please…) FOUR ITEMS!

Yeah, four. One of which was to my own Mum. Although I did sell three of the owls to a friend later on and I also gave away a Rudolf and a Wonder Woman Pencil.

To be honest although I’m a little miffed I didn’t expect to sell much because footfall at the event was dire – maybe twenty people came in all day! Asking round not even the more experienced stall holders sold much either. Oh well. I’ll consider doing another next year but we need to research a popular one first I think. Plus my stock can go to a local gallery in town who I have contacts with and who say they’re happy to sell my stuff (they’ve done so before). It was a fun experience and that’s the main thing right?

Ok, I PROMISE I’ll be back with a free pattern next time. The run up to Christmas is very busy so I can’t promise when, but I’ll let you help choose – just comment below with your favourite and I’ll post that pattern first.

Super Hero Pencils, Santa and Rudolf, or The Lady?

Super Hero Pencils, Santa and Rudolf, or The Lady?

18 thoughts on “Amiguruthi goes to the craft faire.

  1. I can fully empathise with your craft faire experience. My friend and I did a table top sale locally, not really expecting to sell much as most of stalls were bric-a-brac, and we were right! We had quite a good range of stuff between us, crochet and knitted items,cards, beaded jewellery etc etc but we sold hardly anything. In fact we spent more than we made but got some bargains!

    • I did exactly that! I made Β£10 overall, then went and bought a couple of Christmas presents and a treat and that was my profits sold. I commissioned something from my friend too so that was extra lol x

  2. The Lady is so CUTE!!! They’re all very cute!
    Sorry the Faire didn’t do well… I’ve never sold “to the public,” it does freak me out some, I don’t really do rejection well, so out in the public and no one buying might kill me. I”ll have to have a snark-tastic friend with me to help me not care!

    • The sad thing was there were quite a few kids there who showed a lot of interest, but then their parents either pulled them away or (in one case) talked them out of it! Me and my mate kept each other laughing though so it was all good. x

  3. Aw, sorry that the fair wasn’t as profitable. On the other hand if only 20 people came in and you sold only three items to people not related to you, that’s not too terrible. I guess you need to have a try on a better day and maybe a different time of season or maybe even outdoor. Try a few different things and see which is better. As for choosing a pattern – I think “The Lady” is very intriguing with her interesting skirt and classy collar.

    • Yeah we were thinking the venue wasn’t the best. The lady on the stall next to us recommended a couple that are usually more successful so we’re probably going to have another bash next year some time and see if we can pick a more profitable one πŸ™‚ x

  4. What a shame you didn’t sell more because your stuff is so adorable! It all comes down to how many people attend I think. If you have to lug all your stuff and and sit there all day it is a pain.

  5. I had the same problem at the end of November. Paid out $60 for the table, made $32.50 but spent $5.50 a day on the bus to and from for two days and had to eat while I was out, so …. I had one of the worst tables in the set up so I’m sure that was part of it. It was Y shaped and people would come around the loop, then glance at our tables on the tail and leave. :/

    • It’s ridiculous isn’t it when you work out your actual profit? And to be stymied by something like layout must be even more annoying! Hopefully things will go better for us both in future x

      • It was very frustrating. There was a third day that I didn’t bother coming to because I wasn’t willing to spend any more money and not make much. It didn’t seem like we had much in the way of advertising for us either. We were in a store space that was empty and even my sister who knew where I was thought it was the wrong place because all the food people were in the front and one had a particularly big sign for her fudge.

        • Food should always go at the very end – everyone buys from the food stalls so it just makes sense to herd them past everyone else first. Sorry to hear your experience was so shoddy :/ x

          • Yeah, between this and my lack of luck at the weekly flea market, I’m just going to stick to giving stock to a gaming place in town so I can just show up every few weeks and see how it went. πŸ˜› Good luck with your next fair!

Spin a yarn...

