Sneak Peek: Guess what’s coming?

Hiya everyone!

This weekend I hope to release a new pattern for a very special bear. So I want to see your very special bears!

This is Snuffy:

Amiguruthi Snuffy

I’m not releasing a pattern based on him, although one day I probably will make a crochet Snuffy, but the pattern I am releasing links into the childhood teddies we used to sleep with at night. And he’s mine. He is currently 26 years and 5 months old (that’s an old t-shirt he’s wearing) and needs to wear all those pieces of clothing because otherwise he will fall apart. He has more scars from being sewn up than any other teddy I’ve ever met. He got me through spider attacks, my little sister being born, appendicitis, going to uni and living alone for the first time, bad break ups, and everything in between – he only doesn’t still sleep in my bed because a) he’s incredibly delicate and b) I think my other half would find that a bit too weird. I do still get him down if I feel sick or have had a really bad day though. Because teddies don’t stop providing comfort just because you’re an adult!

I love my Snuffy.

Amiguruthi Snuffy

Show me your bears in the comments or on my Facebook page!

 

4 thoughts on “Sneak Peek: Guess what’s coming?

  1. Your Snuffy looks very much like my daughter’s best friend, Gummy Bear (at 4, she didn’t think any other name would suit him! Lol). He used to be bright pink and yellow, but now, sadly, he’s a rather greyish colour, from all the loving hugs and many washes, due to the adventures he took part in with my girl πŸ™‚
    He was bought by her Nanna for her 4th birthday – she’s 30 this year – and he is currently residing with us, due mainly to his rather delicate and, like your Snuffy, scarred condition πŸ™‚
    My daughter travels a lot with her work, and dreads him falling apart, so he’s been given pride of place with us – at least, until she is more settled, anyway πŸ™‚

    • I’m glad to hear there’s another battle scarred Snuffy style teddy out there! I love hearing about bears who’ve been loved for so long, and I’m glad to hear she’s still got him, albeit living at your house for the time being. Gummy Bear is also an excellent name πŸ˜€ x

  2. Pingback: Free Pattern: Guardian Bear | Amiguruthi

  3. Your Snuffy is a cutie. πŸ™‚
    I still have my Teddy, which I got from my great-grandma the day after I was born. πŸ™‚ Your blog-post inspired me to find out a bit more about him and I found out, that he’s from the 1960s. πŸ˜€
    He still lives with me, gets his fur brushed and cleaned with a damp sponge. πŸ™‚ His wood wool in the head still is in good condition and although he got lots of love, he has no scars. But I love my plushies way too much not to have them close. And still sometimes he sits on the top end of my bed, protecting my sleep like he did from the first day we met. We’ve had tons of adventures together. He knows a lot and I am glad to have him. πŸ™‚ Nothing and no one can replace your oldest plushy bear.

Spin a yarn...