Puppy Love (Free Pattern)

Have you noticed how cat heavy my blog is? If you scan down my patterns tab there are three kitties I think (and I have to admit plans for a fourth is already on the hook). So in the spirit of Valentines Day, for this weeks Yarndango I offer a peace gesture to the puppy lovers out there.

amiguruthi puppy love amiguruthi puppy love

 

A Dachshund puppy with heart shaped ear warmers. D’awww.

for some reason I can’t get a great photo of this guy, but hopefully you can all see the cute.

Free pattern and construction photos after the jump.

The Essentials:

Hook: 3.5mm. 2mm

Wool: light brown, dark pink and pale pink DK

Finished Size: approx 4” long, 3″ tall

Optional: Safety eyes (my first time using these properly!)

 

Terms:

CH = Chain

Sc = Single Crochet

INC = Increase

DEC = Decrease

Sl St = Slip Stitch

Dc = Double Crochet

Body

Using a 3.5mm hook and brown yarn throughout:

Ch2/ magic circle

Round 1: 6sc into 2nd ch from hook/ centre of magic circle [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3: {1sc, INC} repeat around [18]
Round 4: {2sc, INC} repeat around [24]
Round 5 – 14: Sc around [24]
Round 15: {3sc, INC} repeat around [30]
Round 16 – 17: Sc around [30]
Round 18: {3sc, DEC} repeat around [24]
Round 19: {2sc, DEC} repeat around [18]
Round 20: {1sc, DEC} repeat around [12]

Stuff

Round 21: DEC around [6]

Finish off and weave in the tail.

This should give you that wider chest than bum look particular to the Dachshund.

amiguruthi puppy love

Head

Ch2/ magic circle

Round 1: 6sc into 2nd ch from hook/ centre of magic circle [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3: {1sc, INC} repeat around [18]
Round 4: {2sc, INC} repeat around [24]
Round 5: {3sc, INC} repeat around [30]
Round 6 – 9: Sc around [30]
Round 10: {3sc, DEC} repeat around [24]
Round 11: {2sc, DEC} repeat around [18]
Round 12: {1sc, DEC} repeat around [12]
Round 13: Sc around [12]
If using safety eyes, add them above this row.
Round 14-16: Sc around[12]

Stuff

Round 13: DEC around [6]

Finish off and leave a long tail for sewing. Bring the tail through the head to under the fifth round (think about where the neck will be when you sew head to body).

amiguruthi puppy love amiguruthi puppy love

Ears

Ch2/ magic circle

Round 1: 6sc into 2nd ch from hook/ centre of magic circle [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3 – 9: Sc around [12]
Round 10: DEC around [6]

Finish off leaving a long tail for sewing. Flatten the ovals and sew them in place at either side of the head.

amiguruthi puppy love amiguruthi puppy love

Sew the full head to the wider part of the body.

Front legs (x2)

Ch2/ magic circle

Round 1: 6sc into 2nd ch from hook/ centre of magic circle [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3 – 4: Sc around [12]

Finish off leaving a long tail for sewing. Lightly stuff and sew in place at the front, not too far back (or your puppy will fall over – less puppy love, more puppy drunk).

Back legs (x2)

Ch2/ magic circle

Round 1: 6sc into 2nd ch from hook/ centre of magic circle [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3 – 5: Sc around [12]

Finish off leaving a long tail for sewing. Lightly stuff and sew in place at the back, this time not too far forwards or your puppy will fall over. Balancing ami legs is quite the art form!

020220132818 amiguruthi puppy love

Tail

Ch6

Row 1: Starting in the 2nd chain from the hook, Sc along [5] ch1 and turn.
Row 2-4: Sc along [5] ch1 and turn.

Finish off leaving a long tail for sewing. Fold in half length ways and sew up the seam to create a ling thin tube.

Sew in place at the back of the body.

amiguruthi puppy love

Embroidery on a nose and face here.

amiguruthi puppy love amiguruthi puppy love

You’ve got your finished doggy!

You can just leave him as a plain Dachshund, or if you want my puppy love twist, read on.

Ear warmers/ headphones (Depending on how you look at it!)

Hearts (x2)

Bumps (x2 per heart)

Using a 3.5mm hook and dark pink yarn:

Ch2/ magic circle

Round 1: 6sc into 2nd ch from hook/ centre of magic circle [6]
Round 2-3: Sc around [6]

Finish off leaving a long tail for sewing.

070220132876

Sew together through two stitches of each (leaves eight free round the whole perimeter, four per bump).

Sl St into any stitch and continue working around the perimeter of both bumps.

amiguruthi puppy love

Point

Round 4: {1sc, INC} around [12] or if you sewed the bumps together differently, just whatever configuration of stitches you need to make a round of 12sc)
Round 5: DEC around [6]

Finish off leaving a long tail for sewing.

070220132878

Sew one heart over the top of each ear.

amiguruthi puppy love

Headband

Using a 2mm hook and dark pink yarn:

Ch26

Row 1: Starting in the second chain from the hook, Sc along [25] Ch1 and turn.
Row 2: Sc along [25]

Finish off leaving a long tail for sewing.

amiguruthi puppy love

Attach either end of the band behind the hearts.

amiguruthi puppy love

Scarf

Using a 3.5mm hook and pale pink yarn:

Ch51

Row 1: Starting in the second chain from the hook, Dc along [50].

Finish off and weave in the tail.

amiguruthi puppy love

Tie your scarf around your puppy’s neck however you like.

amiguruthi puppy love

One happy puppy love for you! And if you’re asking why I choose a Dachshund, it’s purely so that I could make this joke. On Valentine’s Day, to all my readers:

Amiguruthi loves you thiiiiis much

 

18 thoughts on “Puppy Love (Free Pattern)

  1. Pingback: Puppy Love Pattern - free amigurumi patterns daily | free amigurumi patterns daily

  2. LOL! Too funny that you thought of the earwarmers first. It’s always interesting to see how creative ideas originate. I’m glad you picked a dachshund! They are so flipping cute. I also love that in one of the photos, the dog looks as though she is “pointing” and at attention. ❤

    • I hadn’t noticed that. Is it the one before I put the ear warmers on you mean?

      This changed so much from the first idea, just like all the best creations I suppose. Originally I was going to make heart shaped headphones and put them on a bulldog. Then I saw a Dachshund and everything changed lol x

  3. Yes, the photo I meant was the one where you had just put on the tail and she is leaning slightly forward, as if she is ready to run and pounce – just waiting on your command! 🙂 Several of my internet friends have dachshunds so I bet they will be happy you went with that idea!

  4. Pingback: Yarndango Projects 28 and 29 | madcrochetlab.com

  5. I. love this little pup. I crocheted it for a little girl, who asked me to make her a puppy. I hope she loves it as much as I did making it for her. Great idea!!! Keep up the good work. I have a ? Howdo you sew on the wiggley eyes? Thanks Jo C

    • Hi Jo. Thank you – I’m glad to hear you like her 😀 Are you the Ravelry member who posted the version? If not I’d love to see a photo – you can Facebook me at https://www.facebook.com/Amiguruthi or email me at amiguruthi[at]hotmail[dot]co[dot]uk (obv replace the brackets with what is in the brackets – I’m trying to stop spam lol).

      I hope the recipient likes her – I’d love to hear what she thinks too.

      The eyes I’ve used are 6mm safety eyes with a push on ring on the back to keep them secure (you can pick them up in a lot of craft shops, or I get mine in bulk from ebay). They’re brill because once you’ve put the back on it’s pretty much impossible to pull them off. I know wiggly eyes (I always call them googly eyes lol) tend to have to be glued on with a hot glue gun but they’re not the most secure of things. I’ve seen people sew on black beads as an alternative, that’s pretty secure as long as you’re a good sewer. I’d definitely recommend looking into safety eyes though 🙂

  6. Pingback: Readers Gallery 1 | Amiguruthi

  7. Pingback: Contest Gizmo vs Puppy Love – the results | Amiguruthi

  8. Pingback: Readers Gallery 2 | Amiguruthi

Spin a yarn...