Jellyfish (Free Pattern)

Yarndango number whatever I’m up to now! Also it’s my birthday today, so free pattern to celebrate 🙂

So last week I posted about the Hyperbolic Crochet Coral Reef and I mentioned that I’d crocheted this little jellyfish to add to it:

Because it was such a simple improv, I decided to recrochet another and check the pattern. and then give him out free to you lovely people. This is seriously the simplest pattern I have ever written – took me 45 mins to do so with it all written out he’s a proper quickly scrap buster 🙂

Pattern after the jump

Now, I know I’m not exactly reinventing the wheel here, but I think he’s cute so he’s getting shared!

The Essentials:

Hook: 3.5mm (E).

Wool: Any.

Also needed: Black embroidery thread (option if you want to add a face)

Terms:

CH = Chain

SC = Single Crochet

INC = Increase

Body

Magic ring/ Ch2

Round 1: 6sc into centre of magic ring/ 2nd chain from hook [6]
Round 2: INC around [12]
Round 3: {1sc, INC} around [18]
Round 4: {2sc, INC} around [24]
Round 5: {3sc, INC} around [30]
Round 6 – 8: Sc around [30]

Finishing off and weave in the tail.

Short Tentacles (make 3)

Ch 21
20 Sc starting in 2nd chain from hook
Finish off a leave long tail for sewing

Long Tentacles (make 2)

Ch 31
30 Sc starting in 2nd chain from hook
Finish off a leave long tail for sewing

Don’t worry about curling the tentacles – it’ll happen naturally from about the 5th sc.

Assembly

Sew all your tentacles into the centre of the body on the inside (don’t take your stitches through to the outside if you can help it). Remember to arrange them with long and short mixed up for the best result. You don’t have to just do five here, do as many as you like – go nuts!

One attached…

Five attached…

Top folded back down!

You can leave your jellyfish like that, or add a cheeky little face with embroidery thread. These make great laptop buddies hung on the corner of your screen!

 I hope you like. Send me a photo if you make one to amiguruthi[at]hotmail[dot]co[dot]uk. and if you’re UK based, consider sending one to the Millennium Gallery in Sheffield to contribute to the Reef. Or find one local to you worldwide!

8 thoughts on “Jellyfish (Free Pattern)

  1. Oh, I am kicking myself that I missed your birthday! I hope you had a lovely day. And it’s still not too late for me to send you wishes for a fantastic year ahead! I am so glad you took the time to write out this pattern for the rest of us. It is adorable and who doesn’t love a pattern they can use to bust some of their yarn stash? I especially love his happy little face that you added! His smile is contagious! 😀

    • I did thanks – just spent time with the family and had a civilised meal with some friends now I’m old lol.
      I’ve currently got the Jellyfish hooked on top of my TV in my bedroom, so he smiles at me when I first get up and am in a grump! Cheers me up for the day ahead 🙂

  2. Pingback: Yarndango Finished Object VIII | madcrochetlab.com

  3. Pingback: Midweek Squee: The Crochet Club House | Amiguruthi

  4. Pingback: Readers Gallery 2 | Amiguruthi

Spin a yarn...

